University Leadership Series: Three Deans of the New Climate School


Past Event

University Leadership Series: Three Deans of the New Climate School

January 28, 2022
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
The Riverside Church, 490 Riverside Dr., New York, NY 10027


This event is intended to be a frank and intimate conversation with three of the four founding deans of the Columbia Climate School, the first such school of its kind in the world, the first new school at Columbia in more than 100 years, and the first educational institution created in the school’s current design and structure.  The global issues it seeks to address and the urgency surrounding them compel this bold approach. Climate, the University reminds us, is an unusually broad topic.  “The causes, impacts, and solutions require expertise across vastly different subjects.”  While no single university can possibly address all critical climate issues, Columbia is now well-placed to play a leading role in research, training, and preparation of successive generations of students, each of which will bear the impact of climate change in increasing measure.  The new School will help galvanize the public and the policy makers to take the steps that are needed to secure our planet’s future.


Discussion with three of the Co-Founding Deans Columbia Climate School: 

Ruth DeFries (Professor of Ecology and Sustainable Development, Columbia University)

Maureen Raymo (Director, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory)

Alex Halliday (Director of Columbia University's Earth Institute) 


Moderatored by Safwan M. Masri, EVP for Global Centers and Global Development

Q+A with Julie Kornfeld, Vice Provost for Academic Programs and is also an Associate Professor of Epidemiology at the Mailman School of Public Health.

Contact Information

Marika Olsen