Special Symposium in honor of Taro Takahashi


Past Event

Special Symposium in honor of Taro Takahashi

November 15, 2019
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, 61 Route 9W, Palisades, NY 10964 Monell Auditorium
You are cordially invited to a Special Symposium to honor the life and scientific contributions of Taro Takahashi, Ewing Special Research Scientist, Geochemistry Division. After acquiring his Bachelor of Engineering degree at the University of Tokyo, Taro Takahashi moved New York to complete his Ph.D. in geology at Columbia University in 1957. He rose through the ranks to full professor at the University of Rochester, and he held the position of Distinguished Professor of Physical Sciences at Queens College (CUNY) before returning to Columbia's Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory in 1977. He served the Lamont community for 23 years as an Associate Director, continuing as a Ewing Lamont Research Professor until his retirement earlier this year. Taro's main research has been aimed at understanding the fate of anthropogenic CO2 released into Earth's atmosphere. Throughout his career at Lamont, his research has been critical to the quantification of the ocean's uptake of anthropogenic CO2, allowing the uptake by the terrestrial biosphere to be calculated by differencing. These findings constitute a cornerstone for any projection of future trajectories of atmospheric CO2 levels, as well as for any strategies to reduce those levels through management and mitigation. 9:00 AM WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION Sean Solomon Director | Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory Steven Goldstein Associate Director | Geochemistry Division | Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory SPEAKERS (Additional details to follow) Rik Wanninkhof Oceanographer | National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration Burke Hales Professor | Oregon State University Colm Sweeney Aircraft Program PI | NOAA Earth System Research Lab, Boulder, CO Nicole Lovenduski Associate Professor | University of Colorado Boulder Galen McKinley Professor | Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory Juerg Matter Associate Professor | University of Southampton Alain Bonneville Laboratory Fellow | Pacific Northwest National Laboratory James Hansen Director, Program on Climate Science, Awareness and Solutions | Columbia University Taro Takahashi Ewing Special Research Scientist | Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory 4:30 PM RECEPTION Organizing Committee Robert Anderson David Goldberg Burke Hales Galen McKinley Colm Sweeney Rik Wannikhof

Contact Information

Miriam Cinquegrana